Welcome to Turkmenistan

Turkmenistan, country of Central Asia borders with Afganistan, Iran, Kazakhstan, Uzbekistan, and the Caspian Sea. Approximately 80% covered by the Karakum sands, one of the largest deserts in the world. It is the second-largest state in Central Asia, after Kazakhstan, and is the most southern of the region’s five republics. Kopetdag Mountains, lying in the south of the country, are the natural border between Turkmenistan and Iran. There are 5 velayats Ahal, Mary, Lebap, Dashoguz, Balkan.

The capital of Turkmenistan-Ashgabat was founded in 1881. The city’s name comes from the words “Ashk” – love and “abad”- city, giving it the name “city of love”. 

Akhal-Teke horses and carpets of great beauty are two main riches of Turkmenistan. The greatest choice of carpets you will find in bazaars of Ashgabat, as well as in a shop at the Museum of carpets.

In Turkmenistan, there are many places of historical significance.